Getting convicted for a DUI is never a good thing, but subsequent offenses can damage your reputation and cause financial losses that you likely want to avoid. If you’re wondering how a 2nd DUI is different from a 1st or 3rd, you have come to the right place.
A first offense DUI in California is classified as a misdemeanor, punishable by 3 to 5 years of probation, $390 to $1000 in fines, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
Some of the other consequences of a first-time DUI conviction under the law of the state of California include:
You can likely determine that second-time offenders are treated differently from first-time offenders and that punishments are far more severe.
Should you be convicted of driving while under the influence for the second time in the state of California, the penalties the court can impose are the following:
It’s important to mention that the punishment for a second-time DUI offense varies from county to county and ultimately depends on each case's particular details.
In a ten-year period, a third-time DUI conviction is still classified as a misdemeanor in California. However, it carries the following penalties, some of which are similar to a 2nd DUI:
Interestingly, you should note that probation always has these three conditions:
Depending on the circumstances surrounding the case, offenders may also have to:
A third DUI offense always carries harsher penalties than a second or first-time DUI case.
As you’ve already seen, a second-time DUI offense is significantly more severe than a 1st DUI charge but not as severe as a 3rd DUI charge. For a 2nd DUI, you have to serve more jail time than for a first-time offense, and the fines you need to pay are more significant but not as severe as the ones you get for a third-time offense.
With that said, even a second-time offense can lead to severe punishment if an accident occurred while you were driving under the influence. If an accident occurs and a second crime is committed, even a first-time DUI offense can be more harshly punished than a third-time offense that happened without any accidents occurring.
Essentially, the punishment you will get for a DUI charge largely depends on the details of your specific case. That’s why, if you get arrested for a DUI, the first thing you have to do is speak with a lawyer in your area. From there, they will be able to help you navigate the process. For those in California contact us at the H Law Group.